State Services

The Cook Islands is a constitutional monarchy within the Realm of New Zealand, with Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State. The Cook Islands Constitution Act 1964 established the Westminster system of government in the Cook Islands, and provides for various constitutional posts (see below) which include: the Queens Representative, Speaker of Parliament, Cabinet (six Ministers of the Crown), Chief Justice, Members of Parliament, House of Ariki, Ombudsman, Public Expenditure Review Committee and the Public Service Commissioner.