top of page


Public Service Commissioner - Past & Present


Russell Thomas


Mr Russell Thomas served as the Public Service Commissioner from March 2012 to January 2021. He has had a long career in the Cook Islands public  ...


Cecilia Short


Cecilia Short is from a generation of public servants that were ingrained with a purpose. As a country taking on its own livelihood, the Cook ...


Navy Epati


The late Mr Navy Epati was appointed as the Public Service Commissioner from 2006-2012. His career in the Cook Islands public service since 1990 ....


Richard Chapman


From 1963 to 1968 Richard Chapman worked with customs and occupied various senior positions in New Zealand.  In April 1968 he was appointed ...


Joseph Caffery


Mr Joseph Caffery served as the Public Commissioner from 2005 to 2006. Prior to that appointment, Caffery was the Chief of ....

Former Heads of the Public Service


Gail Townsend

Gail Townsend commenced in her role as the Secretary for Education on Monday 5th October 2015 and finished in 2017. Ms Townsend has been an Executive ...


John Herrmann

John Herrmann trained as a teacher at Wellington Teachers Training College. Following teaching posts in New Zealand, Australia and back in the Cook ...


Ngametua Pokino

Mr Ngametua Pokino served as the Secretary for Infrastructure Cook Islands from 2014 to 2017....


Ngatokorua Mataio

Ngatokorua Mataio (Nga) first joined the Ministry of Agriculture as a trainee in the Ministry’s Planning Division in March 1977. After three years, ...


Tamari’i Tutangata

Tamari’i Tutangata has had a long and distinguished career in the Cook Islands Public Service. At various times he has held the position of Chief of Staff ... 


Tuingariki Short

Tuingariki Short (Tui), has held many different leadership roles within the Public Service. While he was trained as a teacher, Tui also worked in ...

bottom of page